The Utility of Witchvox

I’d debated listing my outer court on the Witches’ Voice, but finally went ahead this morning.  Part of my hesitation was rooted in good old-fashioned Gardnerian snobbery (“Oh, they’ll find us if they’re really looking hard enough…”), but the rest was in concerns over the utility of Witchvox.

I remember the heyday of the nineties and early two-thousands.  We did everything through Witchvox.  Regular Internet access was still pretty new for most of us, and the idea that you could just log on and read through hundreds of listings to find other people was like wandering into Xanadu.  I’ve had a Witchvox listing since 1999, and practically all of my Pagan endeavors, for good or ill, have begun there.

But, increasingly, I find that people haven’t even heard of Witchvox.  When they do know it, they don’t have listings.  From what I can tell, a substantial portion of posts by groups and individuals are inactive.  My own area’s page is particularly disastrous (good lord, just look what happens when you search “Gardnerian”).  There are fewer articles than in previous years, and I can’t remember the last time the site had any aesthetic updates (and remember when they used to clear our inactive posts?).

So do you all still use Witchvox?  Is there something else our there I should know about?

While we’re on the subject, does anyone still use Amber & Jet?  I still get the e-mails, but from what I can tell A&J is dominated by first and second degrees who should know better, non-BTW people, or just wildly off topic.

3 thoughts on “The Utility of Witchvox

  1. Larissa Lee

    I’ve had a Witchvox account about as long, and I agree… it’s kind of like a pagan Myspace. I get about one email a year from some local stranger wanting to talk to a like-minded person, and I probably update my account about once a year as well.

    Reply
  2. Raven

    I’ve had a Witchvox account for years, but never use it. I’ll log in there maybe once every three months, browse the articles or people in my area, but that’s about it.

    I do enjoy realpagan.net. It’s not a super busy forum so it’s possible to log in once every 2 (or so) weeks and get caught up without too much trouble.

    Reply

Say words at me.

